Members and Partners

Photonics4Life gathers the human resources, the infrastructure, the capabilities, the expertise and knowledge of more than 50 top-research institutes in the field of Biophotonics, coming from EC member states and Russia. Among them are 13 core members, which started the network in 2008 and the P4L Associated Partners, which joined the network since then to extend the network’s possibilities and its scientific portfolio. In addition all the partners include their local collaborators in the network in form of the P4L Local Clusters Partners.

Official International Partners of P4L are listed here.

P4L Core Partners


Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Brussels)


VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland (Espoo)


CNRS Institut d'Optique graduate school (Palaiseau)


Institute of Photonic Technology (Jena)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Karlsruhe)

University of Muenster (Münster)


Istituto di Fisica Applicata "Nello Carrara" (Sesto Fiorentino)


University of Twente (Enschede)

Russian Federation

Saratov State University (Saratov)


ICFO - The Institute of Photonic Sciences (Barcelona)


Lund Laser Centre (Lund)

United Kingdom

Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (London)

University of St Andrews (St Andrews)

P4L Associated Partners


DTU Fotonik (Lyngby)


Cluster "Montpellier" (Montpellier)


Department of Medicine 1, University Hospital Erlangen-Nuremberg (Erlangen)

Department of Microsystems Engineering (Freiburg)

University Hospital Munich (Munich)




Institute for Health and Consumer Protection (Ispra)

Fondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi Onlus (Milano)

Sapienza University of Rome (Rome)


University of Latvia (Riga)


EurSafety HealthNet (Groningen)


Gdańsk University of Technology (Gdansk)

Wroclaw University of Technology (Wroclaw)


Centre Suisse d'Electronique et de Microtechnique (Landquart)

University Hospital Zürich (Zürich)


Akdeniz University (Antalya)

P4L Local Cluster Partners


Sint-Augustinus Hospital Antwerp (Antwerp)

UZ Brussel - Centre for Heart and Vascular Disease (Jette)


University of Oulu (Oulu)

University of Tampere (Tampere)

Tampere University of Technology (Tampere)

Optoelectronics Research Centre (Tampere)


Lyon Institute of Nanotechnology (INL) (Lyon)

Laboratory of Physics of Interfaces and Thin Films (Palaiseau)

Laboratory of Optics and Biosciences (Palaiseau )

Solid Mechanics Laboratory (LMS) (Paris)

Laboratoire d’Optique Appliquée (Paris)

Hôtel-Dieu Hospital (Paris)


University Hospital Jena (Jena)

Hans-Knöll-Institut (Jena)

Leibnitz Institute for Age Research (Jena)

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology (Jena)

Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry (Jena)

Institute of Physical Chemistry (Jena)

Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics (Jena)

Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering (Jena)

Institute of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry (Jena)

Institute of Condensed Matter Theory and Solid State Optics (Jena)

Biological-Pharmaceutical Faculty (Jena)

Institute for Biological Interfaces (Karlsruhe)

Light Technology Institute (Karlsruhe)

Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Leopoldshafen)

University Hospital of Münster (Münster)

Institute of Hygiene (Münster)

University of Applied Sciences (Münster)

Center for Bioethics (Münster)

Bioanalytik Muenster (Münster)


University of Florence - LENS (Firenze)

Ophthalmic Dept., Prato Hospital (Firenze)

University of Florence - Medical Physics unit, Dept. of Clinical Physiopathology (Firenze)

University of Florence - Dermatologic Clinic (Firenze)

Istituto dei Sistemi Complessi - ISC CNR (Firenze)

Institute of Neurosurgery, Catholic University, Rome (Rome)


NKI-AVL (Amsterdam)

Thorax Centrum, Medisch Spectrum Twente (Enschede)

MIRA Institute for biomedical technology and technical medicine (Enschede)

Russian Federation

Saratov State Medical University (Saratov)

Saratov Scientific Research Institute of Cardiology (Saratov)

Biology Department, Saratov State University (Saratov)

The Russian Academy of Sciences' Institute of Biochemistry and Physiology of Plants and Microorganisms (IBPPM RAS) (Saratov)

First Veterinary Clinic (Saratov)


IDIBAPS - Institut d'Investigacions Biomèdiques (Barcelona)

IBEC - Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (Barcelona)

Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau (Barcelona)

CRG - Centre for Genomic Regulation (Barcelona)

IDIBELL - Bellvitge Institute for Biomedical Research (Hospitalet de Llobregat)


Lund University, Department of Physics (Lund)

Lund University Hospital (Lund)

United Kingdom

NHS Tayside (Dundee)

Institute for Medical Science and Technology (Dundee)

School of Chemistry (Edinburgh)

Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences (Glasgow)

Institute for Cancer Research (London)

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (London)

University College London (London)

The National Heart and Lung Institute (London)

Department of Life Sciences (London)

Institute of Biomedical Engineering (London)

Department of Surgery & Cancer (London)

Institute of Chemical Biology (London)

Institute of Clinical Science (London)

School of Medicine, University of St Andrews (St. Andrews)

School of Biology (St. Andrews)